Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Andy Orr from Bellvue, CO!

Tell us about you and your family!
I’m Andy Orr from Bellvue, Colorado, a small mountain community located just outside of Fort Collins - 75 miles north of Denver. I’ve lived in Colorado since 1997. I’ve been married for 28 years to my wonderful wife, Jamie. We have three grown children - each of them practicing musicians. We have a beautiful Pyrenees dog and are blessed with lots of great friends and family.

I am an immigrant. My family emigrated from Scotland. I’m also a US Army veteran and a former member of The Old Guard, 3rd United States Infantry. I’ve enjoyed my career as a business owner and am now partly retired on somedays. :slight_smile:

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
My older sister gets all of the credit for this one. Her room was next to mine when we were kids. She collected all of the records that were coming out in the early 70’s. She would put on albums and her friends would come over and listen for hours while I listened on the other side of the bedroom wall. My sister is five years older than me and I noticed that her and her friends worshipped all of the musicians. As a red headed, freckle faced kid with a strange accent who had just changed countries, this musician thing seemed like a magic power!

This was the same era as the Partridge Family and Hee Haw and the variety shows with Glen Campbell, Johnny Cash, Sonny and Cher, etc., It was becoming obvious that having the ability to play music was something that was greatly admired. Because of that and hitting the age where I wanted to be noticed by the fairer sex, I asked for a guitar for Christmas. I didn’t get it that year but I kept at it and the next year, Santa delivered! It was a Hondo acoustic guitar - more than good enough. But, I don’t think my parents really expected me to follow through.