Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Anchoring your pinky on your banjo pick hand

Hey Ben,
I notice you anchor your picking hand pinky when playing banjo. I am new to the banjo, but have been finger picking guitar for many years, and do not anchor. Can you explain why you do this. Is it bad form not to?

1 Like

Hi @brakobch,

Thank you for posting and welcome to the forum.

I have only a few begining years of Banjo playing experience from which to draw. I played electric guitar many years back (no anchor, of course). I am not a seasoned player and do not feel comfortable to profess my technique… but rather my thoughts on the matter you raised (to anchor or not) because I was there where you are finding yourself now… questioning in the beginning as anchoring felt to strange and unnatural at first.

In the interest to offer well-intentioned assistance, I share that before I ever knew of @BanjoBen’s site, I now feel fortunate to have gotten a basic video (Play Banjo Today https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0035ECHWW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_YgDDDb4Z5XBNV) with my new banjo as part of a package where the teacher suggested anchoring either: 1) pinky or 2) pinky + ring finger to anchor and I committed myself to listening and absorbing the advice as the banjo was so completely different in my view. I respected so greatly that the banjo felt soooo different to me as compared to the guitar that I humbled myself to just receive the instructions as it was presented - and I am glad I did.

I can just say that when I finally came to @BanjoBen’s site, I quickly learned that the anchoring technique was reinforced (as it was in Earl’s book - Earl Scruggs and the 5-String Banjo: Revised and Enhanced Edition - Book with CD https://www.amazon.com/dp/0634060422/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_8jDDDbDEDPN3M ) and so I felt secure I had made a good choice to follow the guidance of my teachers.