Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

A few questions about improvising

Hi everyone! I’ve been playing guitar for quite a while now, but I just started learning how to improvise about 2 months ago, so I have some pretty embarrassing questions! :confused: I pretty much get the basic idea of improvising, and how to put together licks to compose a lead, but I have a few pretty in-depth questions about how a lead corresponds with the rhythm. I hope my questions make sense!

Let’s say the chord progression is G-C-D. How would I go about making a lead? Would I just do a G lick when the chord is G, a C lick when the chord is C, etc. Or, since the progression is in G, could I play a bunch of back to back G licks, or any other licks that are in G? Do the licks have to be tied completely to the rhythm? Could I just play any lick in G, and use the root note of the chord to start the lick, even if it isn’t a lick that is that same as the chord. For example: Could I play a C lick when the chord progression goes to D, but use a D note to star the C lick? Also, what classifies a C lick, G lick, etc. The notes that you play in a row? Pulling notes from a scale? Using the most common tone of the scale as the center, or core of the lick? I know these questions probably don’t make any sense, but any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance. :smiley:

One more thing. Here is a video of Dan Tyminski and Ron Block. I was just wondering what they were doing in their leads. The song that they were playing was in G, and it seems like they were playing back to back G licks, but using the chord tones of each chord. For example, they would play a D note when it switches to D, but the rest of the lick is in G. Is that true?
The part I’m talking about starts at 1:59: youtube.com/watch?v=mwRpKCL3Iac

This is a huge question and one that is too big to answer fully here. Here is as short an answer that I can give that still is somewhat complete enough to get you moving in the right direction.