Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Which picks are next best?

So as my playing progresses, I’m becoming more and more unhappy with my Ernie Ball Pickey picks. They are fast off the strings but thing is, the faster i play the more i realize they simply aren’t built for a lot of power. Which is most likely why almost zero pros play them. So my question is, next to the Sammy Shelors, what is your favorite pick? I’m just not quite ready to dish out the money for those even though i’d really like to. @BanjoBen, @AdamAsh @Mark_Rocka, @Archie especially intrested in your opinion. And everyone else for that matter.

2 Likes

I guess I’m not the right person to ask. I’ve only played 2 picks my entire life. My first set (which I still have) was a set of Dunlop .020 gauge I bought in 1985. I graduated to Shelors a couple of years ago. At first I really didn’t notice that much of a difference, but when I play my Dunlops now, it feels completely foreign to me.

I love my Sammys.

4 Likes

I love Sammy’s but about to give the Bob Perry picks a try!

3 Likes

Sammy Shelors. It’s worth it. If you really can’t bite the bullet, maybe the nickel National NP-2.

3 Likes

Hey I did the EXACT same thing but obviously not in '85 haha😅

3 Likes

Ok Thanks for all the feedback guys. Maybe i will just bite the bullet and get some Sammy’s and a JD Crowe. Haven’t quite decided yet. @BanjoBen, Looks like your gonna get a bit more to help with that new guitar from Gruhn’s. By the time i’m done you’ll get it for free… :thinking::smirk:

3 Likes

Okay. As an empty nester engineer I have as much fun trying all the accessories as actually learning to play— and maybe my playing would be better if I stopped trying everything out. But with that said, I’ve tried/owned a wide variety of picks.