Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Tye Eggleston from Converse, Texas

me%20and%20my%20banjer%20take%203

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
When I was a wee lad of around 13 (so many moons ago…) I remember going to the movies and seeing “Bonnie and Clyde” and hearing “Foggy Mountain Breakdown” in the movie and I was hooked.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing more off than on for the last 5 yrs. I really didn’t start playing until after the passing of my wife in 2011. A buddy of mine from Cali needed a place to stay and he is an awesome guitar player. He told me it’s not too late to start, so I did. My main goal was to learn to play “FMB” which I have done, I play it slowly until I can get it down correctly. There are so many cool songs to learn, I think “John Hardy” will be next.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite lesson on Bens site is all of them, but Music Theory is one of the pieces of the puzzle I need to get figured out. Playing is relatively easy (did I say easy?) once you get the timing and rolls and chords figured out. I have really learned a lot about 1/8 and 1/16 notes also (Thank You, Ben, for being very meticulous in explaining it).

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal when playing is trying to get the chords and fingering correct. I am trying not to ingrain any bad habits now. Slow and easy is how I attempt to play, I know the speed will come later.

What’s your favorite hobby?
My favorite hobby(s) is/are Golf, Bowling, Photography and of course playing my banjo.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
I was a “Gold Pick” member about 5 yrs ago, then life/work got in the way and I lost my motivation. But I have recently resigned back up and its been about month 1/2.

What do you do for a living?