Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Time to Put it To Use

Well it’s official, post away on questions. I’m an “intermediate” myself on theory but can help the beginner.

I have a question and that is about the Diminished 7th in the major scale, anyone care to elaborate on where that gets used if anywhere? Isn’t changing the major 5th to a 7 chord the same as playing the diminished chord? For instance if I am majoring in G and in my progression I go to a D chord then I go to the D7 before going back to G…isn’t that D7 the same as an F#dim?

Please explain this diminished chord for me and it’s application.

Oldhat

from Answers.com:

Diminished chords are very cool, and easy to understand. Diminished chords serve a cadential function just like a dominant 7. Let’s look at a dominant 7 chord construction in the key of C:

In the key of c the dominant chord would be a G

Chord tones: G B D

T make it a dominant 7 add the F:

Chord Tones: G B D F

look at the diminished chord in the key of C which would be a B Diminished:

Chord tones: B D F

To make it a diminished 7 or a minor 7b5 which is how it is most commonly referred to add the a

Chord tones: B D F A

Read more: wiki.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_d … z22JcrwT48

1 Like

Um so in the case of majoring out of C then you could call the D minor a Bdim if add in a B to it?

I am still a bit lost on this diminished chord in the major scale and it’s use…has anyone every used it in a song before? What genres does the diminished chord show up in or where does it raise it’s head at?

Also the D7 I mentioned earlier out of G is a diminished only if I add a Flat 6th (Eb/D#) in replace of the open D. SO the diminished ends of being the 7th of the 5th with a flated 6th.

confused anyone?

Oldhat

“Um so in the case of majoring out of C then you could call the D minor a Bdim if add in a B to it?”