Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Thumb Pick Advice

Hi All

I’ve been using a ProPik thumbpick and in the few months I’ve been playing I’ve got used to it but thought I would try a few others and just received a golden gate thumb pick and it’s much bigger and I’m not sure if I should now get used to the bigger thumb pick or stick with the ProPik

I really want to try a BlueChip JD Crowe model but if that’s much bigger than the ProPik I’m not sure if I should get one or not

Thanks

I have no experience with either, but I would put a little effort into the new one and see if it gives you any speed or accuracy advantage

Ok will try it out a bit longer it just feels strange being to much longer than the other

I’ve got both those and don’t care for either. The Golden Gate was too big, thick and heavy. The Pro never wrapped around my thumb securely enough, then when I attempted to adjust it, the thin metal just twisted into odd shapes. Wish I had just invested in a Blue Chip or JD in the beginning. Good Luck LG1,

@Butch

Thanks for that I’m gonna get a JD I think and just get used to it :+1:

@Butch

Do you have. Picture of the JD at the side of the ProPik to get a size comparison

Thanks

I just started using the Golden Gate. I had used Dunlop and National previously. The Dunlops chip off pretty easily. I have gone through 2 in 6 months. The Golden Gate seems more durable. They fit about the same. I would like to try a Blue Chip sometime. I did not realize the Propik was that much smaller. I think that would mess me up going to one of those.

Hi @JoeB

Same as me now as the ProPik was my first Thumb Pick and I’ve got used to the size and when I try the golden gate I feel so clumsy

1 Like

Oh I don’t have a JD but Ben has them at the General Store LG1… I’m hoping for one in my stocking. :smiley:

1 Like

Hi @Butch