Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

The Big Bopper Lives!

I know it’s not exactly a bluegrass instrument, but some of you know the long, drawn out story behind this bass. Well, tonight I finally got it finished!!!

This is my first attempt at a sunburst, and I’m really happy with it. Also my first time using a buffing wheel. I’ll never go back to wet sanding again.

Hope these pics upload.
imageimageimage

4 Likes

Wow Mark… phenomenal looking! How does she sound and play? I dig the Strat electric setup on a JBass. Did you use analine dye on the burst? Whatever you did, I love it. Gorgeous figured maple neck!!!

I hate to say it, but I think you put an extra string on there :wink:

1 Like

Thanks Mike! I’m impressed you noticed the Strat set up. One of the most annoying things about my P-Bass is the jack in the pick guard. I don’t always have a 90 deg cable, so often times I have a cable sticking straight out of the bass. I’ve always liked how a Strat solves that problem.

I’ll have to ask my buddy about the dye. I sprayed it at his shop with his supplies. I just found the color I wanted, mixed it in the laquer and started spraying. I used an air brush for the sunburst.

Would you believe I got that maple off of eBay? As soon as I saw the pictures of the board, I knew it was going to be the neck for this project.

I don’t get any credit for the wood work on this project. That was all Huey Wilkenson at AxeHandle Guitar Works. His eyesight is going, though, and he finally told me he wasn’t able to spray it or finish the fine details, so I took it from there (making a nut from a blank with no template is harder than I thought it would be.)

And yes, it has an extra string. These days, if you’re playing country music from the last 2 decades, it’s almost a must.

Oh, and Mike, you and @BanjoBen will appreciate this. The “serial number” on the neck plate is the tail number on the plane that went down carrying Buddy, Ritchie, and The Big Bopper. :slight_smile:

3 Likes