Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Thank you guys!

Received the Nechville Galaxy Phantom and goodies and (as expected) it was setup to perfection!

I’ve spent some time on it tonight (just received it a few hours ago) and I must say… I LOVE IT. The Goldtone I bought as my first instrument is a great banjo, but after playing the Nechville for awhile, I can tell the Goldtone will basically be on display from now on :slight_smile:

So here’s a couple things I noticed already and as a beginner, I wanted to share for others that might someday be shopping:

1. Radius neck: I really REALLY like this. I doubt I will ever go back to a non-radius neck. To be honest I can’t even really explain why but it just feels more natural?

2. The intonation of the instrument across the entire range is so much better than my Goldtone (which of course could be my setup). Anyway, just amazing. Everything sounds just so much better! This alone was worth every penny to me and I would imagine (hope!) is something that I would find on pretty much all higher-end banjos.

3. The whole idea of the 5th string tunnel: I also like that a lot. I don’t really think that’s as big as a deal as the other things because the tuner peg has never really bothered me that much (maybe a little). I just hope I don’t get spoiled from it not being there as the tunnel idea doesn’t seem to be a trend that has ever really caught on (although it should!!).

4. The tone of this instrument is pretty wonderful. One of the things I was a little worried about was that it was going to be “too mellow” of a tone (just judging from other youtube videos, reviews and what-not) . But I must say, after hearing it in person, the tone of this instrument definitely does not sound too mellow to me. I really like it and it sounds great to me for Scruggs style and melodic.

Anyway, thanks again Jake/Ben and have a wonderful Christmas/New Year!

12 Likes

Congratulations on your new banjo! May it serve you well with many blissful years of picking