Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Strumming on Banjo

Hi banjo family,
I’ve been playing in the intermediate section some and realized there was strumming involved with some of the notes. Well I realized I’m not very good at strumming. I also know that other types of banjo playing revolve around strumming such as the guitar. I was wondering if anyone could give advice on how to strum properly and get better at it? Or if there are videos that show this? Thanks!

Hey there,
I’m not a banjo player, but I am a beginner on the guitar. Like you, I was having trouble with my strumming and even with practice was seeing very little if any improvement. So I went straight to Banjo Ben. Sent him an email about my strumming problems. He immediately suggested that I send him a video of my strumming so he could see where he might be able to offer suggestions. Well, after receiving two videos from him after his review, I’m doing much better and am headed in the right direction with my strumming. I suggest you give him a try. He loves to help his clients.
Good luck.

3 Likes

Which vids are you seeing the strumming on?

Thanks for the reply. Mostly on your version of Jingle Bells and at the end of Oh Susanna.

Ah, OK. I was thinking “when does Ben strum the banjo?” Yeah, those little single strings are in a few spots in several lessons. In a few of his latest, he even does an upward strum using his index finger.

I guess if I had to give any advice, it’s to just take it easy. Those strums use pretty light pressure and a nice, smooth stroke (either up or down) and you probably want to lift your anchored finger(s) while doing the strum.

I’d even practice the strum part by itself over and over until it feels more natural.

I actually remember strumming feeling awkward, so I know where you’re coming from. You’ll get it, though!

1 Like