Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Steve Stilts from Thibodaux, LA!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I started playing the guitar when I was about 13 because, like most boys that age in the early 70’s, I wanted to be a rock star, and later, bass so I could be in a band. I only took up the banjo and mandolin about 2 years ago because I always loved the sound of those instruments, and I liked people like Earl Scruggs and Bill Monroe since I was a kid, so I finally decided to try my hand at playing it. I wish I had started a lot sooner. Being born in Kentucky and raised in rural West Tennessee, and coming of age in the late 60’s, early 70’s, I was exposed to country/bluegrass through the Grand Ole Opry, Hee Haw, and the music my parents and grand parents listened to on the radio. I really always liked Bluegrass, and bluegrass instruments, but I only started getting really interested after hearing The New Grass Revival in Michigan in the early 80’s; after that I started listening to the people they said influenced them. Watching Austin City Limits and people like Bela Fleck, Nickel Creek, and of course, the movie O’ Brother Where Art Thou, also contributed to my love of the guitar, mandolin and banjo and bluegrass in general.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing guitar and bass since about 1973, violin since my early 30’s, and as I mentioned before, the mandolin and banjo for about two years. I’ve just always loved music and I believe that even though one may not be very good, it’s good for the soul to be able to pick out a simple song.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?