Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Standard vs. Tenor

Total newb question. But is there a significant difference in playing a tenor banjo from a standard. I know rolls will all be the same. My understanding is they a keyed is a lower key than open G. I’m thinking they aren’t. And Why would a person choose a Tenor Banjo over a Standard open. The reason for my curiosity is one of these days down the road and my rich uncle dies I really like Deerings Julie Belle banjo but my understanding is it’s a tenor.

Tenor is a shorter scale and usually four strings (think dixieland)…below is a link w/explanation

https://www.banjohangout.org/archive/162946

1 Like

Gotcha the Julia Belle is a 5 string. So I guess it’s not a Tenor just says 5 string low tuned

Hi Woody, When you say standard what do you actually mean ?

A Tenor banjo comes in two neck lengths 17 & 19 and as far as I am aware are tuned the same. The 17 fret version is what is often referred to as the short scale.

For Jazz / Dixieland CGDA 4321
For Irish GDAE 4321 which is the same tuning for a mandolin if I am not mistaken

Both are generally played with a plectrum. But and there is always a but, I know of at least one guy in the Netherlands or Belgium who plays bluegrass on a Tenor Banjo and he uses picks and plays rolls.

I believe the Plectrum Banjo is also used for Jazz among other things has 22 frets same as a 5 string Banjo however John Hartford had a 5 string banjo made special that had 24 frets tuned to E which better suited his voice and the longer neck meant he could get two full scales on his 24 fret Banjo

I guess by Standard I mean a 22 fret Open G tuned Banjo like my Deering Goodtime Classic Special. So I guess my next question is What would be the difference in playing a banjo like my Deering Goodtime and playing a banjo like the Deering Julia Belle (I guess any 2 banjos tuned in different Keys) or are you getting the same effect using a capo? Starting to show my inexperience here lol