Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Scott Wilson from Boardman, Ohio!

What first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
My grandpa first introduced me to guitar and taught me my first chords, girls were responsible for me learning to sing and learn how to play better, and Ben introduced me to the world of bluegrass music.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing guitar now for about 25 years and have loved playing music as long as I can remember. My current motivation comes from my first cabin camp experience. I went down confident that I knew how to play and would be able to participate in an intermediate jam and hold my own. Although it was an absolute blast, I got humbled in a way I never had before. From that moment I made a vow to myself that the next time I participated in a jam I would be much better prepared. That was about 4 years ago and wanting to be able to hang in a jam is still my number one motivating factor.

What’s your goal when playing?
When playing my goal is to just have fun and to not stop when I make a mistake. When I’m practicing, my goal is to be disciplined to take the time to work through the licks or phrases of any particular song that I know I don’t quite have down yet.

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?
I don’t really have a favorite technique, but I think bends on a guitar are awesome especially in fiddle tunes. Hammer ons and pull offs are pretty helpful on guitar so I can play faster ha.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I picked up the banjo about 2 years ago and I was also a state solo and ensemble champion on the Euphonium in high school and love playing that.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?