Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Sandy Landahl from Battle Ground, Washington

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
My father taught guitar, so playing an instrument in our household was strongly encouraged. And I wanted to be daddy’s favorite.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I played guitar, touched on banjo and mandolin in my teen years. Took a break as I raised my family. I’ve been honing my skills as I’ve been playing in bluegrass jams for about ten years. A friend asked if I might be interested in playing rhythm guitar for the band she was in. I told her I just didn’t have the time. A few months later, I got a phone call from that same band, asking if I might add some banjo fills to the CD they were making. Well gues what…I’m now the banjo and mandolin player for “Gerle Haggard”, an all female Merle Haggard tribute band. I’m known as “Banji”. I’ve really had to quick hone my skills…This is where Banjo Ben Clark is saving me.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I don’t know if I have a favorite, but I really enjoyed the waypoint lessons. I’m always searching for licks and ideas to incorporate into songs I’m working on. I love the fact that I can go back to some beginner lessons (which I do all the time), to help strengthen my basic skills. I find that having to learn an instrument at steroid speed has it’s limitations…Taking the time to get those basic rolls and licks down right is a major payoff.

What’s your goal when playing?
To play clean and solid. And to be a good addition to whom ever I’m playing with. I’m not concerned about being the best of the best, but making my instrument sound like it should is a real good day.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?