Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Sandra James from Tuscumbia, Alabama

IMG_1105

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I always loved the sound of the mandolin. My Grandad played one

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing “in earnest” for about three years. My hands were always filled with things to do, but when a friend said, “what are you waiting for?” I decided to devote some time to trying to learn. I live about 7 miles from Muscle Shoals, Alabama. There is music in the water, the trees, and the air itself is filled with melodies and harmony. Everyone has a song to sing, a story to tell.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite lesson? All of them!! I started with the very basics, loved how Banjo Ben explained the how and why of each of the “Basics” lessons. The Scale Studies and music theory segments clicked. The Build-a-Break lessons have been very helpful for playing in jam sessions. Having just come through the Christmas season, I “crammed“ through most all of the lessons on Christmas songs. The video quality and ease of use, as a gold pick member, has amplified my progress far beyond anything I could do for myself.

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal when playing is to produce a pleasing sound, complementary -harmoniously to whatever group I may be playing with or for, and to enjoy and provide enjoyment for others. Currently, I play with others to provide free entertainment at local senior centers and nursing homes. I love watching the music spark a memory, prompt a sing-a-long, or bring a smile to someone’s face.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?