Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Rt hand troubles

I’m struggling to get to the root cause of my issue. First off I’m still trying to figure out if I am a two finger or one finger planted player. What is consistent between the. Both is the tendency to roll my hand back and touch or rest on the bridge. If I keep it slow and really focus on this I can kinda keep my hand up. The moment I just start playing and speeding up my hand wants to lay back. I’m debating gluing my hand but that seems silly. What can I do to break what surely is a bad habit? Thanks for the ideas in advance.

1 Like

Hey Brian. I think your situation is similar to what most banjo players experience at some point. I can only tell you what has worked for me over the years. Others will have their own suggestions which will certainly be worth considering.

Anchor fingers: I would suggest trying to plant two fingers on the drum-head, but if you can’t, many people do very well with only the pinky down. When I was an early beginner, I too, planted only my pinky, I also played with a very tense hand as I was often trying to go for Speed; a common pitfall of beginning banjo players… My right hand would actually become tired during practice and I would push my anchor fingers around the head which destroyed my accuracy and speed. You mentioned glue, well confession-time: I tried that too by using glue-stick on my drumhead to keep my anchor fingers from getting pushed around, but I found out quickly that my anchor fingers were getting pushed around because I was tensing-up my right hand way too much. It took me about a month of slowing down and rubber-bands tying my ring/pinky together to get both fingers down without thinking about it. I feel that it almost doubled my right-hand stability and helped my picking accuracy.