Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Richard Atkinson from Harrisville, NY!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I grew up listening to bluegrass music. My father loved bluegrass music and would play records on the old RCA suitcase record player. I was very intrigued with the banjo and how they played so many notes. The first time i saw Earl Scruggs on the Beverly Hillbillies show I was blown away. I grew up in the fifties and sixties so I also liked a lot of the music that was popular during that time also.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I started playing guitar when I was fourteen but didn’t start playing banjo until I was twenty three. It just kind of became an obsession. I loved the sound, so in 1976 I decided to build a house and learn to play the banjo at the same time…lol. I did manage to get the house built.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I can’t say that I have a favorite. I like to look at them all and pick out bits and pieces that I like. I have been told that I have kind of my own distinct style. When I started learning I went about half way through a book and then just set off on my own. I started playing in a band within the first year .

What’s your goal when playing?
If a note is worth playing then its worth playing clean. I like to tell people starting out don’t worry about speed, that will come, learn to play clean with good timing. Timing is everything! When I’m playing with the Atkinson Family I ask myself what can I do to make the person singing lead or playing a cut sound better. Sometimes the answer is nothing. Learning when to not play and learning not to walk on whoever is being featured at the moment is very important. It seems some players never learn this.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?