Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Reading Tab

Any tips to help a Dyslexic learn how to read TAB?
I’m far from a newbie… played guitar 50 years.

I go 3 bars along and have to completely re-orient. 

It seems completely backwards…
The notes should be coming at you from the left… Or… The TAB should be written exactly inverted.

On a related subject... Piano music should be turned a quarter turn to the right... So the keyboard notes would line up with the notes on the scale. 

And while I’m on a roll… Why didn’t they call the chord with no flats or sharps… An A… What were they thinking!!!
Waiting to build my time machine so I can rant to the people responsible… Lol

1 Like

Hi Harvey Here is a lesson on reading banjo TAB ( guitar & mandolin is much the same) which should help explain things. I struggled to learn from TAB but once I had it explained to me it just got easier and easier with each new lesson.

My advice is to focus on learning two measures at a time at first then progress to four measures or a musical phrase. Your goal is to learn the vocabulary of TAB that is a challenge in itself.

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/how-to-read-banjo-tab-banjo

2 Likes

I’m sure you probably know this but I had a friend who I was helping learn guitar. Anyway she had dyslexia and she mentioned she saw things better if it was printed on red paper. When I put stuff for her together I started doing it on red. It really seemed to help her. Anyhow hope this helps. Happy picking!!!

4 Likes

If you ever do, let me know so I can reinvent standard notation.

It all depends on cognitive bias. I initially started with tab and I see a lot of flaws in sheet music. Why bother with sharp and flat symbols when you could just use a chromatic system?!

Tab corresponds directly do your instrument. To a lot of people it seems inverted, but it’s written from the perspective of looking down at your instrument. It’s the strings, not the notes.

“How did you do it Michael” you ask?