Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Question for Jake and all

Wonder if @Jake and any of you guys out there have any tips for a better slick neck when you have a varnished neck banjo. Is there a product that can be used. I don’t class myself as having sweaty hands, but I do notice sometimes there is a bit of drag that can impede getting up the neck fast enough.
Any thoughts tips??

2 Likes

Hi @Jono As a newbie I used to have a problem trying to play slides and moving up/down the neck for the very reason you mention. I think a lot of the problems I had were down to gripping the neck too tightly and frustration that I couldn’t play slides cleanly causing the palms of my hand to sweat. It took me a while to learn to relax and not to grip the neck so tightly. I think I tried Glyde Cote from Stelling to solve the problem, looking back I think it may have eased the problem a little but not solved it since I don’t use it as often these days especially on my Fender and I just don’t experience that drag anymore.

Try wiping down the neck with a dry cotton cloth, Look for sticky or worn patches on the varnish. Wash your hands in warm soapy water to remove any sweat/natural oils and dry off, Relax and be sure not to grip the banjo . See how that goes.

1 Like

Will try that. I’ve also read a tip that talc on the hands helps. I think it’s a case I am gripping a bit too tight on the neck. I don’t realise I’m doing it but I think that may be some of the problem.

I wasn’t conscious I was gripping the banjo so tightly. I think it was something Alan Munde mentioned on one of his videos that lead me to examine my hand position and how tightly I was holding the neck. From that point on I became more aware of the way I was supporting the neck and just focused on applying light pressure to the string when doing slides. Opening up my hand when moving up and down the neck.

Talc/French Chalk might help but I would put it on my hands and not on the banjo.