Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Practice Strategies

I have been playing guitar for about six months now. Recently, I have been feeling like I’m not getting anywhere because of the way I practice. When I practice guitar, I usually just practice whatever. I might play through a few pieces and then work on flatpicking for a song. I play several instruments and I don’t usually have any problems with practicing. My main instrument is piano so I’ve spent a lot of time figuring out the most effective way that I can practice. My practice time for piano is usually pretty structured. I have a practice notebook where I write down the pieces I’m learning and specific ways in which I’m going to practice them. This works well for piano but I find that I can’t practice the guitar the same way that I practice the piano. For people who play multiple instruments, do you use the same practice strategy with all of them? If you don’t, how do you come up with different practice strategies that are effective?

5 Likes

If I had to practice guitar the same way I had to practice piano, I woulda tossed the thing in a dumpster.

Ben’s posted a couple of times about his recommended practice strategy for guitar. I’ve taken to using his advice… that’s what I’m paying him for.

Best of luck with it. I’m sure you’re about to get an earful from the forum!
Billy D.

PS I happen to enjoy your guitar playing!

4 Likes

Yes, and I found this interesting post as well.

So do I, and she has a nice singing voice too… :wink:

3 Likes

Hello Grace

I have not placed this in open forum but if you feel it is of any benefit will do so. Many years ago I played back up Rhythm guitar at Celtic/ British Folk Clubs and Celidhs. Not much room for lead work there. Got to do some introductions and outros. Enjoyed the fun though.