Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Pick rotating in my fingers

Got a new blue chip pick and have been trying it out on the mando. Feels pretty good I guess, but I am sill having a problem I had with other flat picks. After a few bars, the pointy tip toward the strings starts to rotate backward toward the bridge and before long I’m trying to pick with the edge of the pick.

I have to stop and reorient the pick toward the strings again. I’m trying to not have so tight a grip on the pick like the lessons say but the only thing that seems to prevent this is a tighter grip, which of course wears my hand out pretty quick. When the edge of the pick comes toward the strings, I’ve tried loosening the grip slightly to see if the next pointy part comes around, but it doesn’t and I lose control of the pick entirely.

I’ve gotta be doing something wrong here. I’m a total noob on the mando so any help is welcome.

If you could maybe post a pic of how you hold your pick, it would be easier for anyone to help. I flatpick guitar, and have had similar problems, but they went away (mostly) when I started holding my pick correctly, with my index and thumb pointing opposite directions.

Try to post a short video looking down the neck as you play so we can see your angle of attack and grip. You might be coming at the strings sideways, which could cause that problem.