Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Out of Tuneing!

I tune my banjo, but down the neck it is sharp. I adjust the bridge forward and backward and remains sharp. What is going on!!!

1 Like

You just need to keep moving that bridge. If it’s sharp, just keep scooting it back toward the tailpiece until you get the right note. Make sure you’re retuning the strings between each adjustment.

To make moving the bridge easier, you might want to loosen the tension on all but the 2 D strings. You can use those to get the intonation right, then tune up the other strings. Having those other 3 strings loose makes moving the bridge easier.

1 Like

Here’s a weird one. On my soon to be mostly retired MB100, the intonation is great on the open strings and twelfth frets.

But, on my G and B strings, the tune tends to go way off when I’m playing on the 2nd to 4th frets. It’s always been that way.

Any ideas?

I’m no expert on bridge adjustment, but I remember Jake Stogdill at the Banjo Ben Store made a demo video back in October on this topic…maybe this will help:

2 Likes

@Treblemaker, someone else had that problem and it turned out to be a crooked neck, which they fixed and the problem was fixed. To be clear, the neck itself was not crooked, it was screwed on crooked.

2 Likes

I’ll second what @Dragonslayer said. Also, if those frets are sharp, maybe it could be the fret height? Is the note still sharp if you just barely fret the string as opposed to pressing all the way down to the fretboard?

I’ll check that tomorrow and let you know. I had a really reputable guy set it up right after I bought it…hmmmm.