Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Old tenor & Irish tunes

I think I’m lost, what am I doing over here?!
Inspired by Gunnar’s Temperence set (thanks for that!), and because it’s St. Patrick’s Day, pulled out the old tenor banjo. It’s very temperamental. (Maybe it’s me?!) Does not stay in tune. Separate post on that to come later.

So, just played around with it this afternoon. Got about 20 mins of it recorded but only got a few minutes of half way decent material. I was mostly tuning and figuring out where best to pick from on the strings… the good spot was tiny and any little deviation from it sounded like dead notes.

Warning: I know nothing about tenor banjo, how to play, what not to do, not even what its really supposed to sound like. And I’m not good at picking it. I’ve never played anything string except mandolin, and getting used to this giant fretboard was tricky. But it was a fun afternoon trying something different.

So heres 4 short song snippets from todays experiment. And for those of you who dont like “the little red light” aka something recording you, just turn it on and play – play whatever, for however long, mess ups and all, and eventually you forget it’s even there…

Kesh Jig

Sargent Early’s Dream

Irish Washerwoman

St. Anne’s Reel

10 Likes

Irish Washerwoman looks simple but is very tricky. I can’t get it to play clean even at slower speeds even after plenty of tries in guitar.

3 Likes

Kudos on your control of the pick!

4 Likes

A very St. Patrick’s Day post…thanks for sharing, it sounded fantastic!

3 Likes

Nice picking, I should learn those.

3 Likes

Wow @Simone you have been busy. Curious to know if you have been taking online lessons for the Tenor Banjo. I had a years subscription to the Online Academy of Irish Music a few years back with Lisa Canny’s Beginners Course, I dropped out of the advanced course with Paddy Cummins because I found it hard to understand what he was saying half the time.