Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Old as dirt...!

I’ll bet I’m the oldest member on BanjoBen’s site. I check in a 71.
Always wanted to play guitar, but just never committed to doing it until January 2019. And I’ve been true to my commitment, having picked my guitar up everyday since for at least 15 min… Still not very good, but much better than I was a Year and a half ago. And I’m having fun. Just being able to strum out a simple song, or use a bass run, o even fingerpicking a little. What a treat to tell someone when they see my guitar and they ask…” Can you play”, and I say, with a smile, “A little bit”. Hahahahha

8 Likes

And I’ll bet I’m the youngest, at 14. I started playing guitar about 2 years ago, but didn’t really learn anything beyond the G and D chords(I didn’t even know C!) About ten months ago, I started learning for real, and it’s really fun just to play and sing or play with my friends (guitar and mandolin).

4 Likes

I am 72, didn’t take up the banjo till I was 61. So I guess you qualify as the oldest newbie

4 Likes

Well, there’s one other forum member who might be younger, but I’m not sure. I was fifteen when I joined I think, and I started playing around twelve or thirteen

4 Likes

See there @Lefty70,

@Archie has ya… and God Bless you both for being inspirations to us youngun’ 50-somethings. Oh… and I am a 3 year newbie on Banjo and 1 year on Mando.

Keep playin’ and postin’ and leading the way…

Come to think of it… and I mean this sincerely… There is something about Blues… where esteemed respect and proper recognition embraces “mature” players. I also feel that this is true in Bluegrass and (perhaps just a slightly lesser extent, New) Country… as compared to pop, rock, classical (principally singers) and other forms of music where there feels like there can be age-discrimination versus recognition and appreciation for seasoned professional performers.

2 Likes

Looks like we might make good age bookends for BanjoBen’s site…lol

3 Likes