Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Nicole Equerme from Mount Dora, Florida

Singing%202018
How long have you been playing?
I have been playing guitar for over 18 years, and I picked up mandolin at the tail end of high school and have been playing it on and off again since.

After winning an audition for a bluegrass(ish) band out at Disney (called “Mighty Swell”), I decided that picking up the banjo (to aid as a utility player) might not be a bad idea. I won the audition in November of last year–2017-- and ordered a banjo the first week in December (the Deering Goodtime Zombie Killer). I started really sitting down to practice as of January of 2018, and with Ben’s lessons, am now glad to say I am COMPLETELY addicted! I want to play the banjo now more than any of my other instruments. I picked it up for a few “flash and trash” licks & songs, but I unexpectedly am now completely smitten. I find it meditative with all of the repetitive string tunings, and I enjoy the technicality of the right hand. Different styles of guitar playing can focus on the right hand, but primarily/generally, the focus is on left-hand technique. This is a complete flip flop on the banjo, and I really enjoy the new challenge!

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site?
I am making my way through the Beginner Banjo track, and I really enjoy all of those (except the Square Roll lesson-- that one is a mammoth)! I also really love the build-a-break banjo stuff (which, right now, is over my head as a banjo player) but I really enjoy pushing myself, and taking new techniques/licks/tricks really slowly, and working the tempo up, so even as a “beginner,” I’ve got a few tricks up my banjo-playing sleeve!

As a professional musician, and someone who has played the guitar for well over 18 years, the Bag O’ Licks guitar stuff is invaluable. I have gone through the E licks, and a few of the G & D licks, and I throw them into songs all over the place while playing. They make the songs I play that much more stylish.