Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Nic Bordwell from Moorhead, Minnesota!

What first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I first was introduced to guitar via my band teacher. He was a great flat picker and I went to one of his concerts. I was mesmerized. I was only 12 at the time but my parents took me straight to the music shop and bought me a guitar. He taught me lessons for a few years and I was hooked.

Mandolin is my main instrument now. When I first discovered it, I was at a trampled by turtles concert. Erik Berry was playing the mandolin and lighting it up. Something had to of been different about their set that night because he had quite a few solos. The tremolo, frequency and overall portability really got me. Again, my parents purchased me one and I was off.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing stringed instruments for roughly 15 years. I was 7 when I started playing saxophone, so 20 years playing music. Currently my motivation is my daughter. Every night we play together before bed. She’s on 3 so she bangs on her ukulele and I play little fiddle tunes or nursery rhymes.

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal is to have fun. I have a tattoo that says “Smile More.” If I’m not having fun and smiling while playing, man, I’m the one messing up there. Music is fun.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
I think I’ve been a gold pick member for roughly 7 months or so.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Man, that’s tough. I really liked his Nashville number break down. It was succinct enough to get me back to practicing but detailed enough to get me to think that way.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I love playing Latin jazz and swing on my mandolin.

What artist(s) most inspire you? Who are your favorite musical heroes?