Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

New To Forum With Nut Width Question

First off hello everyone this will be my first post
I have been messing around with a Mandolin for a few years but never reall took it to serious until now.

Awhile back I picked up a Loar LM310 F style just because I love the looks of the F style got it about a year ago just because of the price anyway my question is really about the spacing between each set of strings I have trouble fretting the strings cleanly because of how big my fingers are would a wide nut mandolin make a difference with the issue I am having

All opinions are greatly appreciated
Thank you

3 Likes

Unless your fingers are the size of one of these foam fingers you get at football games, then yes, a wider nut may help you drastically! Because the nut is wider, there will be more string spacing as well. I have the same problem and prefer a wider nut. The spacing at the bridge is important as well and will usually coincide with the nut width.

If you’re in love with your instrument, you may be able to have a new nut made (it will still be the same width) with a wider string spacing, moving the two sets of outer strings closer to the fretboard. But only if you have the room to do that. If they’re already close to the edges, then you may as well get a different instrument. Again, you would most likely have to change the bridge to match the new nut spacing.

I believe most mandolins are 1 1/8" nuts. A “wide nut” is usually 1 3/16" or even 1 1/4" but usually 1 3/16" and that little bit definitely makes a difference in feel.

Good luck!

3 Likes