Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

New to banjo

Hi guys.
I’m brand new to the banjo. Please can you point me in the best direction to get me started on my journey? Not sure if I should learn chords or rolls or something else. All help will be greatly received.
Thank you.
Sarah

8 Likes

Hi Sarah, welcome to the BanjoBen forum. You’ll be able to find everything you need to get you on your way and lots of helpful and friendly people who are more than happy to chime in (except me; people find me ornery, I think I’m adorkable). Even Ben himself checks in from time to time.

Clicking this link will take you to the Beginning Banjo Learning Track which will take you each step and then check off your progress along the way; I love checking off items on a list.

You’ll get three lessons for free with the free silver pick membership. If you haven’t already gotten a gold pick membership, you’ll see a “join now” link in the upper right hand corner of the screen. Click that and you’ll see the benefits of the membership and prices. You’ll then have access to a treasure trove of content.

Feel free to ask questions, someone will jump in. I hope you enjoy your time here.

Cheers,
Maggie

10 Likes

Hi @slq3263.sq Sarah welcome to @BanjoBen 's Forum. Since your NEW to the banjo the best place to start is the beginner’s learning path. Work your way through the lessons in order as best you can. Any time you have a question post it in the banjo part of the forum and either Ben, I or one of the other students will do our best to help.

https://banjobenclark.com/university/beginner-banjo

4 Likes

Hi Sarah, welcome.

4 Likes

As a Beginner, here’s my expert advice:

1. Do what these guys say and follow the Banjo Learning Track. The darn thing works!
  2. Don’t be a stranger. Post here often, even if it sounds like a silly question or comment. No one will belittle you, because no matter how advanced one is as a player, we’re all still Beginners. You’ll see!