Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Never too old, but ……

Hi folks. I just joined this site moments ago. Like to ask you all a question and ask for 100% honesty. I don’t yet play the mandolin, but I’m very interested in picking it up and learning. But here’s my deal. I’m 62 years old. My hand/ eye coordination is still good but slowing my cognitive ability is still good but slowing, I can’t yet read music and I don’t play any other instruments and I have no practical experience with music other than as a listener. So the question is, how big of a challenge am I in for? I’m fully aware that it’s never too late to learn. But there is an age at which learning becomes exponentially more difficult than in your younger years. So what do you think? How big of a challenge am I in for?

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum @rws4184! I’m glad you’re interested in playing the mandolin! It is one of my favorite instruments (plus @BanjoBen makes an awesome teacher)! I would definitely agree with "It’s never too late to learn an instrument. It could be a bigger challenge, but if you set your mind to it (and it sounds like you did), it won’t be as hard. The most important part is to have fun learning the mandolin! (I don’t speak from experience, so my answer is just my opinion :smile:).

3 Likes

ABSOLUTELY GO FOR IT !!! : Learning a musical instrument is one of (if not the best) options for keeping your brain active. Not to mention all the additional physical, mental, emotional … etc. benefits. You will never regret it particularly if you’re nearing that long awaited/deserved retirement.
I’m many years your senior and just got into banjo and have never regretted it. Ben’s instruction is very well structured and his methodology is challenging but great fun. Key word … FUN !!!
He’ll also guide you toward your mandolin purchase.
Again, I’ll share a thought that’s posted in my practice area … “You CAN’T Go Back And Change The Beginning …But you CAN Start Where You Are And Change The Ending.”