Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Need some structure to practice

Hey all -
I’ve been picking this thing for several years off and on and have been through multiple periods of growth and plateau, but still am not where I feel like I should be in skill level.
In most things I try to learn or improve, I generally do well with some structured learning, but have never really applied that to music, so I was hoping someone could recommend a general practice routine.
Let’s say I can commit 30 mins per day to focused practice (generally I can find additional opportunities to pick up the instrument and ‘play around’ with stuff).

Some of my short term goals are:

1. Improve my ear for identifying keys and chord changes:
    Currently if I know what key a tune is in, I can usually figure out a I-IV-V progression, but if I need to learn to figure it out quicker, and if there’s any ‘other’ chords I have a lot of trouble figuring it out.
  2. Improve my sense of the beat.
    I can usually keep decent time by myself, or playing with a recording I’m familiar with, but if speed changes up or down from whatever I’ve practiced it throws me off. Even when I convince myself to use a metronome, once I start playing I really struggle to hear the clicks (same thing if I’m playing with a group and have a bass keeping the beat).
  3. Improve current tunes I know.
    I’ve got a pretty big repertoire I’ve learned mostly from tab, but I do find when I play some of them against recordings they don’t always sound ‘right’. Sometimes I’m missing a couple notes (and thus throwing myself out of time), and sometimes its just a dynamics issue where I’m playing the right lick, in time, but not emphasizing the right note.