Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Need help developing a plan and site navigation

Hello everyone. I have been lurking around the site for a while but I just recently became a lifetime member. I’ve got a couple of years of some banjo under my belt and have recently took up the mandolin as well. Naturally, I am further along on banjo but I am still a rank beginner with a long way to go. Ben’s site is wonderful with a lot of info but I just can’t seem to put a cohesive plan together for myself, I keep going down rabbit holes of other videos and watching stuff that I am not ready to attempt. I start in a beginner section but, for me anyway, there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason to the order of the videos or lessons. I know there are check lists and such but I still seem to get lost in a quagmire of info with no specific plan of how to move forward. For me I guess I wish that each section had lessons numbered from 1 thru whatever. From purchasing an instrument up through the last advanced lessons all in sequence. Start at Lesson 1 , then 2 and so on. It might just be that I don’t know how to navigate the site correctly. I was wanting to attempt was to practice the banjo and mandolin by starting both at the beginning and moving forward at the same practice level as I go. For instance I want to start with scales. There is a lot of great info but I can’t seem to put it all in a specific and cohesive order. I just end up down a rabbit hole and the next thing I know I’m spending a lot of time working on something that I might not be ready for yet. And now I’m just rambling. Any help or advice would be most appreciated.

1 Like

I think the beginner learning tracks are arranged in the order in which you should learn them, so you can go through those and when you get to intermediate you can do any of them. But I’d say go through the beginner learning tracks first (sequentially)

4 Likes