Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Nathan Herring from Kuna, Idaho

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I enjoyed bluegrass music as a kid. Hearing the Beverly Hillbillies theme made the banjo an easy choice when decided what to learn. My father bought me a banjo and I taught myself for over 10 years.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I started playing the banjo at 14 years old. I now play in my church during song service and with special music. My motivation is for others to be blessed by hearing it as much as I am blessed by playing it!

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Right now I would have to say “Waypoints” is my favorite lesson. I’ve put it to use many times. His back-up banjo lessons are essential to learning outside the box.

What’s your goal when playing?
To be relaxed and have fun!

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I play the banjo, guitar (6 and 12 string), mandolin, ukulele, and harmonica. I love bluegrass, but my favorite genre is Appalachian Gospel. That old folk style of music is so much fun to listen to.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
My wife just gave birth to our 6th child (Nov 3rd), so my first thought was “I would just sleep more” :slight_smile: Our kids are growing up so fast, so I would spend that extra time with them.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
2-3 years, I believe. I’m a Lifer!

What do you do for a living?
I am an Assistant Pastor at South Valley Baptist Church in Kuna, Idaho. God is good!

What would be the most amazing adventure to go on?
The most amazing adventure would be to travel to the space station. To see earth from space would be pretty amazing!

6 Likes

Congrats on being GPotW, Nathan! Boy, when you imagine an adventure, you really pull out all the stops. Take a trip off the planet? That’s what I’m talking about!