Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

My first song I've learned was Cripple Creek

My first song I’ve learned was cripple creek. I’ve been playing this for two years now and I still can’t quite clean it. I know @Archie I need more patience… :sweat_smile:

12 Likes

Nice!! I really like the melodic licks. When doing the Scruggs version, I use a helpful little trick from Russ Carson— rather than sliding from 2-4, slide from 2-3 and then bend to reach the B note:

4 Likes

that’s cool, I’ve already seen it, but I don’t find it easy … but it’s awesome!

3 Likes

Nice picking!

2 Likes

Hi @Severin I thought that was very good overall.

You started to fall off the rails on each second half of the melodic walk down. Now I am not sure if that was due to a fretting problem or a picking problem. But you clearly repeated it second time round. So it seems embedded in your playing

I noted your thumb appeared to speed up on that short sequence and I am wondering if maybe your double thumbing there, causing you to miss stings

Isolate and break down that melodic section. Check your fretting hand and make sure your fretting the strings properly I sensed a little hesitation. Also watch your roll pattern over that second passage to determine the problem. You may need to slow it right down to figure out the issue

Just know your not alone, I have similar problems with the projects I am working on right now.

2 Likes

thanks Archie for your detailed comments … yes i think this is a picking problem … i will work on it.

2 Likes

I like the personal touches you added to it.

3 Likes

Thank you!

2 Likes

Funny that! My first song learned on the banjo? That was Cripple Creek! And that was at least 45 years ago. You might say I had no confidence or maybe no talent and I did get elsewhere busy for quite a few years but I sure enjoyed playing that tune!

5 Likes