Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

My First Banjer

I finally pulled the trigger and bought my first banjo and I couldn’t be happier! Well, if I could play Dr. Stanley’s “Hard Times” flawlessly I suppose I would be a bit happier, but barring that, I’m pretty excited.

I ordered a Gold Tone AC-1 through my local music shop and it came in yesterday. For the price, I figured this would be a great banjo to start out with and find out if I like it as much as I think I will and also great for field picking when the weather is a little less than ideal.

I’ve been going through the introductory lessons over the last week in preparation for its arrival and have started with the chords and forward roll lessons now that I have it in my hands. Picking rolls on a banjo vs strumming through a chord on a guitar is definitely a much more challenging endeavor but I think I am in the right place to get the instruction I need to learn this skill.

I do have one quick question for you all as I am just starting out. Would you recommend getting traditional lessons and supplementing that with the information on this site or do you feel the instruction here is sufficient on its own to go from 0 to playing the banjo? I look forward to any input that anyone would like to share on that.

Like every proud new daddy, here is a picture of me holding my baby…
Picture%201

9 Likes

Hi Matt Congrates on your new banjo and welcome to @BanjoBen 's Forum