Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Michael Mark from Deland, Florida

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I was first interested in playing bluegrass music after a preacher named Travis Alltop, who is a superb flatpicker, came to our church and played. I started the guitar, and after about a year of hearing bluegrass music, I really wanted to play the banjo. Shortly after starting banjo I joined Ben’s site, and after about a year of being a Gold Pick member I figured it would only make sense to take up the mandolin!

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing the guitar for a little over two years, banjo a little over one, and mandolin about a month and a half. My main motivation to play is that I just really enjoy the sound of the instruments, learning new tricks to incorporate into my playing, and the simple fun of playing. Oh yeah, and also I get really, really bored if I don’t.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite lesson is probably Banjo Utility Rolls, as it has totally improved my backup for bluesy songs. I also really enjoy I Have Decided to Follow Jesus for banjo, even though I still can’t play it without messing up at least once! Oh, and “How to Change Your Strings” has always been a helpful one.

What’s your goal when playing?
My primary goal is to be able to bring honor to the Lord Jesus Christ through my playing. My secondary goal is to sound good and not mess up :slight_smile:

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I don’t play any instruments other than Banjo, Mandolin and Guitar, but I do enjoy congregational singing and piano music. Maybe someday I’ll take up the dobro or fiddle.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
I’d probably practice more, and also get to things that I have to do but that I never end up doing.