Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Michael Duffey from Media, Pennsylvania

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I started playing in 1965 when everyone wanted to play the guitar. The Beatles had been popular for a few years, as were the Rolling Stones, and folk music guys like Simon and Garfunkel were getting pretty hot. All my friends were starting to play the guitar; even my sister. So I got an awful acoustic guitar with ½ inch action for Christmas and suffered through a couple of lessons from a local folk music teacher. Everyone I knew who played (including my sister) picked it up faster and was a better player than myself. However, I fell in love with the sound and feel of the instrument.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?