Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Michael Brashler from Lockport, Illinois

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
My older brother played the guitar

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I started playing the guitar at 8 years old. Unfortunately, I did not dedicate myself to the instrument at that time. I did pick it up again in college and continued to play with friends at my church, only focusing on contemporary Christian songs at the time. I started playing the banjo, 3 finger style, when I was 35, (I’m 60 now) and then Claw hammer style 10 years ago. I picked up the mandolin and ukulele about 2 years ago.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Intermediate level song - Wabash Cannon Ball for the mandolin. The tabs and the video instruction are easily manageable. And, you can come back to it again and again whenever you want. Being able to print the tabs makes it very easy to practice wherever you are.

What’s your goal when playing?
To learn a song that my band is performing. I am a part of a “Garage” band and we perform the “nursing home” circuit. Historically, I’ve played the banjo - claw-hammer style with the group, (though a bluegrass group)…but we already have a 3 finger style banjo player…so I recently switched to the mandolin.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
Claw-hammer banjo is my strength; 3 finger banjo is a challenge…so much so that I’ve dedicated all my time to Claw-hammer and mandolin. However, I would probably choose the banjo 3 finger style if I could do it well… I also dabble with the Ukulele!

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
About 2 years

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?