Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Mic and software

Im thinking of buying mic for recording banjo and
a software for it. Do you ppl have any suggestions?
Home use for fun don’t need professional studio equipment

1 Like

Hi Mats, Great post. I am no expert on audio setup’s but when I started recording myself I bought a ProSound Reed Mike and everything sounded quite tinny. I then upgraded to a Samson Pro condenser Mike. The key word being CONDENSER. Make sure whatever mike you choose to go with you make that your Default. Disable your computer mike to eliminate feedback and echoing. I don’t use any additional software when I am recording videos. But I do have Audacity if I just want to record audio files. You should also consider your sound card if you have a games computer you most likely have a good sound card. If your computer is designed on a home/business build you may need to upgrade the sound card.

Ok thanks. Stopped at local store. He put together
Some stuff into a package deal. Bit more money than I expected but it will be a Christmas gift for me self then :grin:

You generally get what you pay for, buddy. Let me know what he recommended. I use a Shure SM7b on almost everything. It’s a dynamic mic but I run a Cloudlifter CL-1 in the chain that boosts it to more of a condenser response.

+1 for the SM7b. I’ve had it for several years and love it as a vocal mic, and it seems to do well with whatever I throw at it. I don’t have a CL-1, I might take a look at one of those. Do you use it live or just when recording?

There are some “cheap” condensers that are really impressive for specific uses, but they don’t have near the flexibility or durability of the SM7.

Regarding software, there are good packages at any price point. I use (and like) Reaper.