Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Measures 25-26 on John Henry

I am trying really hard to learn “John Henry”. I really like the song and the string progression. I started playing it on Song Surgeon at 50BPM, and have now moved up to 70BPM. I am trying to get to like 1 million BPMs(sounds like a million) or whatever the original speed is. So here is my issue, on the second chorus at measures 25-26 I am having a hard time transitioning to measure 26 from 25. My brain and my fingers are evidently having some type of disagreement on which ones to use when it comes to fretting the last measure. I have tried to do it slowly and also faster(just in case my brain hasn’t figured out what my fingers are doing yet). Can someone show me or give me a good transition step for the last measure. Thanks in advance, Y’all are awesome.

Are you referring to the basic or intermediate version?

Watch how ben does it in the video

2 Likes

basic version.

Any time my fingers get crossed, I’ve been able to watch how Ben does it in his video and it fixed the problem for me.

2 Likes

Hi @_Tye_Stick

It’s really a matter of training the brain. How I would approach this is to split each measure in two. It’s not a particularly difficult transition but clearly it’s causing you a lot of frustration.

1. The fretting hand is fairly simple index finger on the third string second fret play an alternating thumb roll.
  2. Middle finger on forth string second then play open forth
  3. Index finger on the third string second fret and ring or pinking on the forth string forth fret - this is quite a common two finger D chord and you will find you use it a lot.
    All the right hand picking patterns are shown on the TAB.

Any time you find yourself straggling with a lick, break it down to half measures you will find that it becomes easier to memorize each section.

1 Like