Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Mark Holmes from Vernal, UT!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I was raised on bluegrass and Marty Robbins. January of 2012 I watched a video of Earl Scruggs picking Foggy Mountain. I wanted to learn how that was done. I watched Scruggs videos over and over. There aren’t many music stores out here in the boonies so, I put a little money together and ordered a banjo. It arrived March 28, 2012. That night I learned of Scruggs’ passing.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been trying to play since 2012, but I’m still a base beginner. I’m 58 years old and life has taken a toll on my hands, specifically the tendons in my right thumb so it’s slow going. I have to quit for months at a time to let that Repetitive Stress Injury heal. My motivation is simply learning something new. I love to conquer a new mental barrier. Plus, I love bluegrass. It reminds me of my Dad.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
The most beneficial for me were the lessons on theory. My mother had a goal for me to play the piano 50 years ago and I went through the motions but I didn’t understand the what and why until those theory lessons. Understanding that foundation has made it easier to build and grow. But, my favorite is the forward roll drill with Boil Them Cabbage down. I’ve got it up to full speed, actually have to hold back a little and can play it with the band mp3. That has been a blast!

What’s your goal when playing?
Today my playing goal is clean, clear notes. Other times it has been speed or precise counting of notes. It changes. I set micro goals. I’ll never have a macro goal like playing in a band. I do this for me.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?