Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Left hand finger assignments

This is a total beginner question, but with left hand fingering, what frets go with which finger? Do the four fingers start by covering the first four or 5 frets? When you move up to 6 do you move your entire hand or just extend as far as you need to go? That is does the index play 6 or is it an extended pinky?

There may not be any one answer for this but I would be interested in hearing points of view.

Thanks,

John

1 Like

Good question John, and welcome! You’ll be practicing using nearly every finger on every fret eventually. That’s the beauty of Ben’s instruction. He’ll be teaching you things you won’t even realize but you’ll be improving your muscle memory without even thinking about it!

Have you watched Ben’s video about Fret Hand techniques?
https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/banjo-hand-positions-banjo/video/intro-to-the-fret-hand

Hi John

That’s a huge question with multiple answers. The best advice I can offer is to work your way through @BanjoBen 's Beginner Learning Track, Ben has gone to a lot of time and trouble you give you the tools you need to learn to play banjo. There are no shortcuts. These lessons are structured in a way to provide you the knowledge and skills to give you a path to follow. Take a look at this lesson on major chords this should go some way to providing some answers to your query…https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/basic-major-banjo-chords-banjo?from_track=beginner-banjo

It’s a common question a lot of people have. Do yourself a huge favor now and pay close attention to how Ben uses his fret hand before you develop bad habits that are tough to break later on.

Once you get past the beginner section, efficiency of motion becomes crucial in playing more advanced runs. If you’ve already built good habits, those will be much easier to tackle.

1 Like