Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Lawrence Porter from the island of Malta!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I never intended to play the mandolin. As a 21st birthday present, I funded my god-daughter to go on a bicycle tour of Italy. She returned with a bowl-style Italian mandolin which she gave to me. I now have 4 mandolins and two ukuleles tuned in GDAE, and it’s my favourite instrument. I would call myself a post-beginner to intermediate player. Definitely not advanced!

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing English concertina for 18 years and the mandolin for about 9. My main joy is playing with others in a largish group.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Well I’ve only just joined so it’s early days. My wife is a fine singer but I haven’t done much backup for songs. So I’m enjoying the “Exploring Ballad Backup” lessons at the moment. But I’m sure I will find other favourite lessons as I get more familiar with the site.

What’s your goal when playing?
To listen to others in the group and make a good contribution to our overall sound. In our Irish-style sessions we don’t take turns to lead the tune - all the melody instruments play together.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
The English concertina was originally my main instrument, although I now consider the mandolin as number one choice. I also play the ukulele - but only when tuned to GDAE!

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?
I don’t really have a favourite technique, although I do enjoy trying to play a good tremolo which adds a distinctive mandolin sound to the slower tunes in the the session.

If you could play in anyone’s band, who would it be and why?