Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Larry Haden from Fayetteville, Arkansas

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site?
I’ve been playing guitar off and on for about 25 years, but only recently decided to learn how to flatpick. I saw a video of Jake Stogdill playing and talking about Blueridge guitars. I had been looking for a guitar more suited for bluegrass, so I shot Jake an email and I was at the General Store in South Missouri that afternoon. I got to “play” multiple Blueridge models that afternoon. I write play in parentheses because sitting there listening to and watching Jake play… I seriously considered taking up the kazoo as my instrument of choice. I did not purchase a guitar that day, but I was back within the month and got a Blueridge 140A! If anyone is considering a new instrument, I HIGHLY recommend giving Jake a call at the General Store. He had the guitar set up better than any I had ever held. Truss rod, bridge, flux capacitor…you name it and Jake had checked or adjusted it all to make sure that guitar was perfect before it left the door.

I’ve only really “dove” into the Salt Creek and Cripple Creek lessons. I really like the Cripple Creek lesson. All the hammer-ons and pull-offs make me sound like a WAY faster picker than I actually am! The Bag o Licks lessons are on the agenda next, I need to add some flavor to my boom chicka.

What’s your instrument of choice and what was your inspiration to learn how to play?