Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Lane Fisher from Bedford, Pennsylvania

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I don’t recall exactly a peak moment when it stopped being a forced thing and I started actually wanting to play. I think that would probably be when I started playing fiddle and playing with my dad and the family jam. Since then I have collected several more instruments, and enjoy picking even more.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I started playing a home piano course almost before I can remember and then took two years of actual piano lessons and made many times more progress in those two years than I did in the 4-5 years prior, studying on my own. I sometime later, I began teaching my self bass, violin, guitar, and banjo. My motivation to play would be my musical extended family on my dad’s side and also this great community here.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I really like Ben’s guitar and mandolin duets, as well as the advanced Build-a-Break lessons. These help a lot when I am coming up with my own breaks.

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal when playing is mainly to have fun and enjoy making music with other musicians.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I really enjoy classical works as well as some choral music and Southern Gospel, other than bluegrass of course.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
There are so many things to do with extra time! I would record more music, hunt more, more outdoor cooking, in a nutshell, just live more.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
A little over a year now.

What do you do for a living?
I am blessed to have a job at our family bulk food/grocery store.

What would be the most amazing adventure to go on?