Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Ken Snyder from Lilburn, Georgia

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
The Beatles in 1964. My parents got me a 3/4 size guitar to learn on. Within a few years I was playing in a rock band all through college. After college, I met a guy who introduced me to acoustic music. We played folk, country, and some bluegrass music. This led to learning banjo, fiddle, and upright bass. I recently retired and decided to try my hand at playing the mandolin. I was fortunate to purchase a Northfield Big Mon mandolin from Ben’s General Store. I am halfway through Ben’s beginner mandolin series and loving it ! Banjo Ben’s teaching style is THE BEST!!!

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing since 1964 with occasional breaks due to other commitments. I love the acoustic sound and stringed instruments.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
For many years all my playing was within the first five frets. Ben’s unlocking the neck and playing up the neck lessons on banjo, guitar, and mandolin are both a challenge and eye opener for me. And I love the melodic banjo lessons.

What’s your goal when playing?
To play songs accurately with feeling! And to have fun doing it !

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I still enjoy playing the old rock tunes acoustically, as well as fiddle tunes and old time clawhammer tunes. Also the Christian, gospel, and Christmas songs that Ben teaches.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
I immediately joined as a lifetime Gold Pick member in 2017, when I saw the quality, humor, and dedication that Ben injects into his lessons.

How did you find out about Banjo Ben?
I ran across one of his lessons on You Tube. His web site intro by the guy in the mullet sealed the deal!!

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?