Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Jeff Perryman from Weddington, NC!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
For the mandolin, it was when I saw a video of Doyle Lawson and Quicksilver performing “Julie Ann”, and his mandolin playing got me curious about learning to play the instrument. Bluegrass has always appealed to me, especially Earl Scruggs banjo playing, that initially got me hooked.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
Mandolin, since May '20, I started playing guitar and banjo in my early teens, then after college they got put away for a long time! During the lockdown of 2020, had time to dig them out and in the process I got really curious about playing the mandolin. I had forgotten how much fun it was and I set myself the goal of getting back into making music.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I’d have to say the theory lessons. Like the one I’m doing now on Pentatonic scales, and the ones on major scales. When I was younger, I would simply learn a song from my friends or learn from tab. To be able to understand the “why” and “how” songs are constructed (1,4,5; Nashville number system, A part/B part, etc.) has given me a whole new perspective and understanding of music as a whole. The TEF files and rhythm tracks have added a new dimension to my practice sessions, they are awesome!

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal is to be able to play rhythm, and lead breaks, after being give the song and the key we’re playing it in. I want to be able to join a jam session and play with confidence and contribute.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
Guitar and banjo, I want to start getting back into playing them as well. Also, I’d really like to learn some Irish tunes for the mandolin!

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?