Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Janet Carlisle from Demossville, Kentucky

Janet%20GPW

What was it that first got you interested in playing the gutiar, mandolin or banjo?
I have been interested in playing guitar from a child as long as I can remember. I also have been interested in playing banjo and mandolin since my young adult years. I remember hearing my uncles playing those 3 instruments in a group and being featured to play and sing in many little churches down in the hills of Kentucky. I always admired them and especially remember such songs as “Rank Stranger”, “There’s a Light at the River”, and “It’ll Always be Springtime in Heaven.”

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing guitar since I was 8 years old. I just started banjo a couple of years ago, and am fairly new to mandolin. Growing up, we never had money for lessons and so I am self taught. It is so exciting for me now that the internet exists and I have discovered Banjo Ben. I am motivated just thinking of the endless possibilities of learning techniques and new material.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I like going back to the basics and making sure I am playing correctly. I like the song I am learning from Banjo Ben right now, " I Have Decided to Follow Jesus". It is helping me improve by taking me up to some of the higher frets.

What’s your goal when playing?
My goal is to play a few songs well and read tabs a bit more fluently.

What’s your favorite hobby?
As well as playing bluegrass gospel music, I just love to listen to it.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
I sort of lost track of time, but I think I have been a Gold Pick member for almost 3 years.

What do you do for a living?
I work as a Home Healthcare Aide.