Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Jamie Dowdy from Ashland City, TN!

Tell us about you and your family!
I am a Senior Systems Engineer with a large hospital company where I have worked for the past 32 years. I am a divorced father of two children, Delaney Leigh and Aiden Reese who are both in middle school now. My hobbies include music and amateur radio.

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
After my divorce I was living with my parents and one night at the dinner table we were discussing my father and niece who both play the guitar. My momma mentioned that I should also try to learn an instrument. After some thought, I decided to learn the banjo thinking that it would be fun to play with my family.

How long have you been playing and whatā€™s your motivation to play?
Iā€™ve been playing the banjo for about two and a half years now. The fiddle for about a year and the flute and piccolo for about 6 months. I love learning and playing my instruments helps to pass the time when I am alone.

Whatā€™s your favorite lesson on Benā€™s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite lesson would have to be the first song I learned how to play, Boil em Cabbage Down. Itā€™s such a simple song that can be played in so many ways with all the different roll patterns and on the fiddle with different bowing techniques. Itā€™s fun to play too. When I play my banjo I always play it first as a way to warm up my fingers.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I am also learning how to play a fiddle and the flute. I have a violin, a five string viola, a Di Zhao flute and a Pearl piccolo. They are all fun to play. I enjoy playing bluegrass and gospel songs. I have also gotten in to Irish fiddle and Iā€™ve learned two jigs so far.

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?