Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

James Stone from Corpus Christi, TX!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
Growing up in Tennessee, my parents listened to all the country artists of the 50s, 60s and 70s, Hank Williams, Conway Twitty, Lorreta Lynn, Merle Haggard, George Jones, etc. But the biggest influence was an uncle who played an acoustic. He would play and we would sing those old songs together. I was only 7 or 8 years old then and knew I wanted to own a guitar and play one day.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I got my first guitar for Christmas when I was 10. I’m 57 now and, while I haven’t progressed as much as I should have over that amount of time, I’ve never stopped playing. My motivation used to be just simply the love of the guitar and music, but now that I am a pastor and have been a Christian for 36 years, my primary motivation to play is to worship in church. But I still cut loose with some old stuff once in a while. You can take the boy out of the country but…

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I would have to say my top 2 favorite lessons have been the Lessons on rhythm. I never was precise with my timing and it always affected my playing when trying to play with others. Those lessons from beginner to advanced helped me with my timing tremendously. Also, Mr G’s lessons on theory. I still don’t read music very well (i prefer tabs), but those lessons strengthened my understanding of music. I have actually started playing along with the piano more recently, and I believe a combination of Mr G’s theory and the Rhythm lessons contributed to more confidence and better overall playing.

What’s your goal when playing?
To make the music and not just play the notes.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?