Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Is it a sharp or a flat?

I could have sworn someone recently asked about when to call a chord a sharp or a flat. I can’t find that post now, though. While I don’t exactly know the answer, I just ran across this image that I thought might be helpful.

20157099_10155704231224260_44448631263900237_o

3 Likes

Tolkien music theory is good.

3 Likes

Hi @Mark_Rocka I am sure if Tolken had written a book on music theory we would all be music wizards.

Here’s what I’ve been using as a reference tool for years. An interactive Circle of Fifth’s although I don’t recall if it actually answers that specific question it sure is a lot of fun to play around with just point and click.

Have fun
https://randscullard.com/CircleOfFifths/

1 Like

We have a forum, so let’s discuss whether a note is sharp or a flat. I am no expert. Here’s what I think I know/suspect:

• The note that falls between an F and a G should be an F# when playing in a keys of G, D, A, E, B and F# and their relative minors. F# is part of the scale. That rule seems pretty common sense-ish.

• If you are in a key that has neither F# or Gb (such as the key of C) what do we do? It is an accidental. I think you can call it either. I would think that you would want to be consistent within a piece (not notate both an F# and a Gb).

• For accidentals, while it may not be “right or wrong”, I think there is likely situational bias or convention. Is the flat third in a G lick an A# or a Bb? I have my thought, but I suspect it may go against how most people think. What say y’all?

2 Likes

Me, I just leave the theory to the theorists and play banjo.

3 Likes

Here is a good read to put you to sleep: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Key_signature

1 Like
3 Likes

I would have liked to see the original question because the phrasing here is confusing to me (I’m not sure what the question is and I prefer to answer it properly).